Looking to make the switch

A

A-J

Hey guys

I’ve been reading this forum within the last week and you all seem very helpful and keen to give good advice. I just got a few questions/concerns if anyone has the time to help me out…

I am looking to replace my desktop PC with something a bit more stylish and portable. I was browsing around Dixons the other day looking at laptops when I came across the iBook and PowerBook. These things are amazing, after some research I’ve decided to go for a 12” PowerBook with a SuperDrive. So this isn’t going to be another iBook vs PowerBook thread!

I’ll be using the PowerBook as my sole machine for the net, music and work (web design, so PhotoShop, Flash etc) and would like it to last me for the next few years or so. I’m just a little worried about the size of the screen, does anyone use a 12” for work and find it ok? I have a 17” LCD, but not sure if it will work with the PowerBook, is this possible?

I’ve never used a Mac before, but looking at the demos of Tiger on the Apple website and reading the reviews and threads on the forum I think it looks awesome. So if anyone who has recently made the switch and could give me any details on how it went that would be cool.

Broadband is BT, not sure how I would get this to work, is it a simple plug in the BT modem, enter connection details and off you go? Not sure if Tiger comes with a Firewall either.

The only other thing is where is the best place to buy from? I’m guessing direct from Apple but I could be wrong (I’m in the UK if this makes any difference?). Also does Tiger come pre-installed or do you have to do it yourself.

Cheers

A-J

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Imac G5
I use BT (if you mean British telecom) on my imac and it works real well....

OP
A

A-J

Ye, its British Telecom. Was it easy to set up? With XP you just use the install CD that comes with the modem. Don't think that would work with Tiger as the CD is set up for use with Windows.

Reaction score