reinstall os 10

Reaction score
Hi
I picked up a used emac, for my mother and am trying to do a clean reinstall.

The machine is an emac 1Ghz G-4.

I tried using the disc I got with the machine, black X disc OS 10.4, but it would not work, it kept saying something was wrong with the disc. It looks fine a few light scratches but no more than a cd.

So I tried my own OS X discs the grey ones that came with my original machine.

It would get to the second disc, Idvd portion and not go any further. It sat all night and would not do any more.

It is now stuck in the mode of "please insert disc 2" but every time I do it freezes or strarts going "preparing for installation" and comes to a stop.

I think I have now partially erased the old system so I cannot just forget about it and use what was on it.

help, I am not very good with these

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Sounds like your black disk is damaged, and the grey disks only work on the model Mac they came with!

- Nick

OP
G
Reaction score
Is there any way to get it out of the reinstall loop it seems to be stuck in and go back to what was on the system to begin with?

Any suggestions on the disc, it appear fine to me, what do you clean them with, soap and water???

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Is there any way to get it out of the reinstall loop it seems to be stuck in and go back to what was on the system to begin with?

Any suggestions on the disc, it appear fine to me, what do you clean them with, soap and water???

You pretty much need an good install disk to get things working. Your "black" 10.4 install disk could be dirty, scratched, or damaged in some way...and that's why it's not working (assuming the computers optical drive is fully functional). You said that this black 10.4 disk came with the computer...so anything could have happened to it during it's life before you got it.