Quick question about purchasing a 13" macbook pro

Reaction score
Getting ready to pull the trigger on a new 13" macbook pro. I'm a college student getting ready to graduate so right now it'll mostly be used for music/movies, surfing, email, and microsoft office but who knows after I graduate. I plan on using it for quite a few years so my question is, would it be better to buy the 2.4ghz processor with 8gb of ram or the 2.66ghz processor with 4gb of ram? The 2.66 with 8gb is a little outta my price range.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
I seriously doubt that you will ever need more than 4GB of RAM if all you are using it for is college work. The only people that actually might utilize 8GB of RAM are people that deal with heavy 3D rendering, people that deal with music for a living, and photographers who work with RAW files.

Just get what you can afford, as you can always upgrade the RAM yourself for cheaper than you can get it through Apple.

OP
S
Reaction score
I seriously doubt that you will ever need more than 4GB of RAM if all you are using it for is college work. The only people that actually might utilize 8GB of RAM are people that deal with heavy 3D rendering, people that deal with music for a living, and photographers who work with RAW files.

Just get what you can afford, as you can always upgrade the RAM yourself for cheaper than you can get it through Apple.

So the extra processing power would be better suited?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.4Ghz 13" Mbp 8gb ram 500gb hardrive
So the extra processing power would be better suited?