• This forum is for posting news stories or links from rumor sites. When you start a thread, please include a link to the site you're referencing.

THIS IS NOT A FORUM TO ASK "WHAT IF?" TYPE QUESTIONS.

THIS IS NOT A FORUM FOR ASKING QUESTIONS ABOUT HOW TO USE YOUR MAC OR SOFTWARE.

This is a NEWS and RUMORS forum as the name implies. If your thread is neither of those things, then please find the appropriate forum to ask your question.

If you don't have a link to a news story, do not post the thread here.

If you don't follow these rules, then your post may be deleted.

any new updated student discounts or future student promotions??

Reaction score
Hello,
I've been looking into buying a laptop from Mac for a little while now and have finally decided that I am definatly going to go for the power book rather than a pc laptop..
I am a student and was wondering if I should take advantage of the student discount right away or maybe wait a little bit longer to see if they have any new or cheaper student discounts? Summer school student discounts or are there any rumours about any new discounts or the cancellation of the old ones. At the least I don't want to miss the current deal.

Secondly...I was going to buy the powerbook 80GB with superdrive 12" mainly so that it is portable for my travel photography. It will be used with photoshop cs. I have heard that it would be best to get the most ram I can buy...but that's an extra few hundred dollars when you buy with the whole package. Should I just get the min memory and then look to upgrade after buying? Are there cheaper mac memory sources and where should I look? I used mac's a long time ago, then have been on pc's for the past 5 years and now that I am switching back, I feel way behind.