Organizing photos using Iphoto - How to categorize photos so it doesnt all get mixed

Reaction score
I recently purchased an iMac so Im fairly new at this.

I got some photos which I would like to import to iPhoto but it sorts it by date, faces or locations which makes it quite messy.

I was wondering is there any way to categorize it into folders or something so iPhoto only sorts the photos that are in that exact folder by date.

To give you a better understanding of what I mean this is how I have imagined the setup:

-Pictures from iPhone
-Vacation pictures
-Photoclub pictures
-My girlfriend
-Private pictures

is there any way I can categorize the pictures like this so I have to enter "vacation pictures" and then click sort by events so that iPhoto will show the events by dates only from the vacation pictures and not include pictures added in "photoclub pictures" and "my girlfriend"?

The only way it seems to me to do this is create different users on the iMac and have the different pictures on different users, it seems like a lot of work just to separate some pictures from each other.

I hope I managed to explain myself properly as english is not my mother tongue. I appreciate all the help I get.

JD

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.
You can organise by date, roll, event etc. by default. Just look in the "view by" window in preferences.
To do what you wish you would need to create albums of those names specifically, but I don't think you can auto import into those, you need to drag them manually.

OP
J
Reaction score
You can organize by date, roll, event etc. by default. Just look in the "view by" window in preferences.
To do what you wish you would need to create albums of those names specifically, but I don't think you can auto import into those, you need to drag them manually.