Domain name help

Reaction score
Hey everyone, first time poster here.

I'm trying to host a website using a power mac G4 (running Tiger)'s built in apache server. I purchased a domain name through GoDaddy.com, and I'm completely confused as to how I can get the website to appear on the domain name I purchased. I'm sure this is a basic web hosting question, but I'm a newb when it comes to this kind of stuff.
Do I need to use something like DynDNS, and transfer my domain name to them, or is there another way to do it? I apologize if this is an incredibly basic question, but I'm absolutely stumped.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
THe way it works:

Domain name -> DNS server -> IP address -> Server..

So you have the 2 things on either end of this chain..you just need to link it all up, when you registered your domain with GoDaddy they probably set the Nameserver to their own and that just resolves the IP address to a parked page or something..

What you need is a custom DNS server so that you can grab the IP address of your Power Mac at home and put it in there. Then at GoDaddy, you'd point it to the this custom DNS server.

By default DynDNS doesn't allow you to use your own domain name, you have to use whatever they have..

However, DynDNS does provide custom DNS for $29.95/yr and you can follow this DynDNS.com - Services -- Custom DNS -- How-to to set it all up..

Regards

OP
G
Reaction score
Oh! That makes sense! Thank you very much!

At first, I was going to ask "is there any way to do it for free," but that was because I read the price as "$30 per month". I think I'll upgrade my DynDNS account, because that sounds pretty simple.

Out of curiosity, though, is it possible to get a custom DNS server on one's own? How does that work?

Thanks again!

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA