Dashboard Icon dead and disappeared

Reaction score
Can anyone help. I'm new to computers full-stop but I love my Mac and have had it almost a year. With the help of the apple guys I had a great selection of widgets appear on my dashboard. I dragged the dashboard icon onto my Dock and all was well. But now when I click to open the dashboard icon on the Dock nothing happens. There is no blue light under it and it doesn't open. I can still open my dashboard through my customized mouse click but not from the Dock???? I have thought about dragging it off of the Dock and reinstalling it from the Mac's applications folder, but the icon isn't there. I'm sure it was there originally and that was how I put it on the dock in the first place. I have a dashboard icon on my dock that doesn't do anything, any ideas please?

Reaction score
Dragging if off wouldn't delete the app, it just removes the shortcut from your Dock. If you navigate to your Applications folder with the Finder and double click on Dashboard in there, does it open the Dashboard?

If yes: I would drag the current icon off the Dock, start it via Finder, which should add the icon to your Dock again. Then right/option-click the icon -> Options -> Keep in Dock.

Hope that helps!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
If you navigate to your Applications folder with the Finder and double click on Dashboard in there, does it open the Dashboard?

I have thought about dragging it off of the Dock and reinstalling it from the Mac's applications folder, but the icon isn't there. I'm sure it was there originally and that was how I put it on the dock in the first place.