Erasing Hard Drive?

Reaction score
I've just recently bought a new MacBook Pro and am in the process of selling my old one. I want to completely erase the hard drive but because of a fault with the nVidia graphics card I can't boot from the original install disk due to a scrambled screen. I've been looking for information on erasing drives and found something I hope may be possible. Using a firewire cable can I mount my old laptop onto the new one as an external drive/device and use the Disk Utility from my new machine to completely and securely erase the hark drive. Is this something I can do and if so what is the complete procedure? I've never used external drives before.

Just had an additional thought... would it be possible to connect up with a firewire, load the Tiger install disc into my new machine and erase and re-install the OS onto my old mac?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I believe you're referring to Target Disk Mode. Read this Apple KB article.

Regards.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27 iMac+Thunderbolt, iMac 21,
As to your second question - NO. If you try to use the Tiger disk in the new MBP it will not load. If you back up your new MBP and installed Tiger on that, then i think you could use Tiger disk to load onto old Mac. If you had another Mac with Tiger on it then u could use Tiger Disk in that Mac to load onto another Mac thru Firewire.
Hope that is clear ;D

OP
T
Reaction score
The old mac is all okay to be a target disk. If I wipe the old Mac's drive from my Snow Leopard mac using Disk Utility (via Target Disk Mode) and select the format as Mac OS Extended, will the result be a Snow Leopard format because of the fact that Disk Utility has been used from a Snow Leopard OS? Would it be the same as if I'd booted from a Snow Leopard OS disc and used the Disk Utility from the drop down menu to erase and format the drive?