eMac Newbie with USB WiFi dongle

Reaction score
Hi Guys! After a couple of decades tinkering with PCs, I finally bought myself a 3rd generation 1.25Mhz eMac to play with. So far, it's been kind of fun - but something like trying to find an address while driving on the wrong side of the road in a strange car. I upgraded the RAM (from 256k to 1.5 Gig - which makes quite a difference to performance!) added a "Tilt'n'Swivel" base, and toyed with buying either an Airport Extreme card... or a MUCH cheaper USB dongle. I went for the dongle - remember, I'm a NEWBIE, not a fanboy! (But a Newbie with twenty years experience. My RAM upgrade came from my "spares" box; it works just fine, even if it DOESN'T have an Apple logo stuck on it. I shudder to think what it would have cost if it HAD the Fanboy's logo!)

I "installed" the Dongle - plugged it in, and installed the driver, configured it, typed in the WEP key for my home network... and it found the router and connected happily to it. With a PC, that's all you need. Apparently, with an eMac, it's NOT all you need. I started up Safari, and was told "you're not connected to the internet" (Strange... the RaLink configuration window says that I AM connected to it!) It offered to open the Network configuration tool... which offered a wide range of options, but NOT my situation: WiFi by some means OTHER than an airport card.

I bought the eMac expecting to be dazzled by how fantastic Macs and OSX are. As you might have gathered... I'm NOT too impressed at the moment.

Any suggestions would be welcome. How DOES one get Safari to talk to the web through a perfectly good connection provided by a dongle?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Did you not read last time this was posted? Look for an Airport Extreme card as USB dongles just do not work. Can always go back to your PC I guess.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.