How to close OS X programs?

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've been using Windows OS for 15 years and just bought a new MacBook. I have lot's of questions about it's OS X system. Can you please answer if you can?

1. How do you close an application? Sometimes clicking on red button just minimizes it.

2. Sometimes when I open a new program, it opens behind my active Window. How do I make all newly opened programs to open in front of an active window?

Thanks
New Mac switcher ;D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums and to save you some hassle ~ we have gals here as well.

In the Menu Bar go to the Progam Name, slide down to Quit and click! For the other question, it is up to the Application, check this explanation out:-

http://forums.macosxhints.com/archive/index.php/t-68300.html

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, late 2012 model, 21"
You can also quit programs by typing Command + Q.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
Clicking the red "Close" button does just that... it only closes the window, it does NOT quit the application. You actually have to choose "Quit" from the application menu or press Command+Q (that is, the Command and Q keys at the same time) if you want to quit the application. Just one of the little differences between Windows and OS X. Even if you can't see any open windows, an application is still open and running if you don't actually quit it.