beginner questions (virus/spywares, startup speed, overclocking, ram upgrades)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
macbook pro 15' i7
1) I have been wondering whether mac or pc is the best option for someone who is a complete beginner, or partial beginner.
My mum wants to buy a com, a previous PC user, but my dad took the tablet to work. I thought mac is a much better choice because of its user friendliness. But being a recent switcher as well, im afraid Im having some difficulties explaining certain things to my mum. haha.

I know mac doesnt not get infected by virus easily, or maybe not. How about spywares, are Macs prone to spywares? Or any way to prevent it while avoid installing apps that may slow down my system.

2) I realise my com startup speed slowed down after installing a few apps, even though my hard disk is still quite empty.
I empty my trash bins very frequently, I off my apps before I shut down, I keep my desktop empty. But startup speed remain SLOW, for a relatively new i7 mbp, it is pretty unacceptable to startup more than 80secs i guess. Then I ran Onyx and solved the problem, but I still dont quite understand how Onyx works. I dont understand what's all the cache about. Help please.
I also intend to overclock but I dont really know how to. Tips and advices needed! I dont really know how the new processor is working differently from the previous processors as well. Oops. sorry, beginner here. Dont go too harsh on me. :D

Last thing, I intend to upgrade ram from 4 to 8 to make dual OS boot runs smoother. But I find the upgrade to be very expensive. Is there any third party rams that is much cheaper and reliable? From what I know, I think normal PC ram upgrades are very cheap compare to this.

Whole chain of questions! help please! Thanks :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17 inch 2 GHz C2D imac (5,1) with 3GB DDR2 RAM, X1600 (128MB memory) GPU - OSX 10.6.3