install problems

Reaction score
alright first off im new to this whole apple thing, next i have a ibook g3 dual usb. was running 10.3.9 which i atempted to upgrade to 10.4 from a disk which i aquired which was a bad copy. now i went on ebay and purchased the 16 disk install so i would know it was a good copy. now when i try to install it allows me to select the main language for the computer then it tells me i can not install this software on my computer then it tells me i have to restart. so like i said i new to this whole apple thing and i don't know what to do next any help would be greatly appreciated.

thank you in advance
andrew

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
That is the message you get when attempting to install OS X from a disc(s) that shipped with a Mac. Those discs are system specific and will only install on another Mac with the same specs.

You will need a retail version of 10.4 to have any success installing it on your G3.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
And make sure you purchase a full retail install DVD or CD set. You will find the CD's very hard to find. Bet the discs you have purchased are silver grey and not black, and as our admin points out, they will not boot any other machine that the one they came with.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
Your problem is that the iBook is old. But, if you had the OS discs that came with it, or a retail version of Tiger or Panther, you'd be fine.

OP
A
Reaction score