strange problem with airport extreme

Reaction score
this is juggernaut... esp. for me because i am not a computer programmer.

i have an older macbook pro that is running os x 10.4.11 that used to work just fine with an airport extreme (model a1143). i had a really basic wi-fi set up with time warner / earthlink cable internet.

life was dandy, until i moved...

now, airport utility can't find the base station at all... and i still have twc / earthlink in the new place.

i've experimented with the configurations for ages now... and nothing seems to work. the basic problem is that airport utility can't actually find the device. this leads me to believe that the airport extreme base station is just not picking up on the wireless network signal coming from the cable modem, and also can't find the macbook.

here's what i've done:

1) plugging directly from the cable modem into the laptop via ethernet works, no problem.

2) i have an old airport express (not extreme), which i plugged the cable modem into. airport utility sees the airport express device, and then it finds my wireless network signal as set up on my computer.

3) i put that away and then plugged the airport extreme back into the cable modem. still, airport utility couldn't find the airport extreme or the wireless signal through after multiple attempts. so, i removed the ethernet cord from the cable modem and plugged it in directly to the laptop. then airport utility found the airport extreme. i reformatted it... but then the device couldn't restart. i did this three times... each time the same.

4) i removed the ethernet cord from my computer. i put it back to be between the cable modem and the airport extreme... hoping the reset would work. but i still have the same problem.