Right Decision?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.4Ghz 13" Mbp 8gb ram 500gb hardrive
Im looking at getting my first mac for college next year. Ill just be using it for mostly just basic stuff. Office, school work, surfing ect. Ive decided on the 2.66GHz 13mbp, with a 500gb harddrive. I was originally leaning towards the 15 inch mbp but i strongly prefer the size of the thirteen, and decided i wouldnt really see much of the performance increase with the I5 given what im using it for. I also plan on getting the three year warrenty/protection. I guess im just curious if you guys think this is a good decision, and if ill be happy with it. Im new to the mac world, but love using my friends and intend to become more mac savy. Feel free to make any suggestions at all. thanks

OP
K
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
And i know viruses are far far less prevelant on macs, but do i still need to run a virus/malware program? And if so, what are the best ones?

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Im looking at getting my first mac for college next year. Ill just be using it for mostly just basic stuff. Office, school work, surfing ect. Ive decided on the 2.66GHz 13mbp, with a 500gb harddrive. I was originally leaning towards the 15 inch mbp but i strongly prefer the size of the thirteen, and decided i wouldnt really see much of the performance increase with the I5 given what im using it for. I also plan on getting the three year warrenty/protection. I guess im just curious if you guys think this is a good decision, and if ill be happy with it. Im new to the mac world, but love using my friends and intend to become more mac savy. Feel free to make any suggestions at all. thanks

Well, it's a solid choice for someone who characterizes their needs as "just basic stuff". So, I think it's a good decision, but ultimately you're buying it for you, not for me.