'Mac Pro- Dual-Core Intel Xeon' Help

Reaction score
Hey,

My name is Josh. I'm a college student majoring in Graphic Design and I'm looking to possibly upgrade my current computer situation.

I'm not 100% sure the year of my computer, but I believe it is 2006 or 2007.

I have a Mac Pro Dual-Core Intel Xeon and these are the specs. I am aware of. If this is not enough information for you to make a quality response, just ask specifically what I should add. (it has a 23" flat screen)

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MP11.005C.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.7f10
Serial Number (system): G870208BUPZ
Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-0017F205D9C8

My question is, I am really interested in minimizing the size of my computer to a Laptop, specifically a Macbook Pro. I wanted to know if a standard model MacBook Pro of this year (2.4 GHz. Intel Core i5, 15") would be worth getting or would it be in my best interest to stay with what I have.

If you believe I should upgrade, what do you believe is a good selling price for my current Mac Pro?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I totally understand wanting to downsize your computer system from the Mac Pro to a laptop. You mentioned being interested in the MacBook Pro i5 15" 2.4ghz.

You really haven't told us anything about your computing needs...so it's tough to know if this laptop is for you. Basically...if you can afford it...get it.

As far as the value of your Mac Pro...check this out:

Mac2Sell - Guide to used Mac

Hope this helps,

- Nick

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Note: Merged duplicate threads and deleted duplicate posts.

OP