I cant reset my PRAM

Reaction score
I have a MacBook that is 3 years old and today it began to give me some issues that I figured resetting the PRAM would solve (I used to be a computer tech and had no problem with this). When I went to reset the PRAM (using command + option + R + P) but it just kept booting as if I was pressing nothing. I tried holding the keys at many different times during startup with the same result.... Anyone have any advice?

I am not mistaking the command and control keys and I tried at various timings during startup (apple.com says to hold them before the gray screen comes up). Nor am I not holding the keys long enough - I held them from before (and after) the gray screen until my login screen came up.

I googled this and did not find any similar issue, which makes me think it's user error, but it is simply holding down 4 keys....

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.
Hold them until you have heard 3 chimes and then release. That's the PRAM reset.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Are you holding all 4 keys down at the same time? Command+Option+P+R and keeping them all down? I press all 4 at the same time right at the startup sound. Keep them down and you should hear what Kevin mentioned above. If not, I wonder if there is a bad key on the keyboard?

OP
A
Reaction score
Thats the thing, i am holding the keys down, but it keeps booting and gives me the login screen as if I am doing nothing.

Also, the command, P and R keys work fine while i am using my computer. I also know the alt key works because I remote in to my office PC.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.