need help os messed up??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
alright first off im new to these thing called a mac, so here is my problem i just updated my ibook 500mhz from os 10.3.9 to os 10.4 and to me it seems like everything load correctly i got the 10.4 from a torrent site it was a 4 disk install and like i said it seemed to go smooth until i tried to update the software. and all it does is keep CHECKING FOR NEW SOFTWARE it gets like a 5th of the way with the load bar and just sits there, also when i try to change the desktop background i click system preferences then select desktop and screen saver and it looks like its gonna go then it just closes system preferences. i don't know what to do so any help would be greatly appreceiated, besides those two things i haven't found anything else that doesn't work.

thanks in advance

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro
hey the best thing you could do is get osx 10.5, which is leopard, or 10.6 which is the new snow leopard. if you do have 10.4, then that is the old osx, which is tiger. try using one of the new os' and see if it runs fine. If you don't want to get it, then I recommend wiping ur hard drive and re-installing the os that you have.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)