Prospective Newbie Here

Reaction score
I am looking into making the switch. Everyone I speak with loves their Mac! So there is something to be said about the product. Here is what i am looking for:

A good reliable computer to get me through 2 1/2 years of Grad school. Nothing fancy, just using word,pp, and things of that nature for papers and presentations. I also want to be able to use it for enterainment on long nights on call, and in between classes. So as you figured i dont need anything to blow my socks off. I am considering the MBP and MB. I would like to have some HD space so I have found bang for the buck looks like an Aluminum case(cause im not a fan of white) MB with more memory. Also I am looking into refurb, cause its cheaper.

As people who know their stuff here, any recommendations? MB over MBP? New over Refurb? Just a few simple questions looking to get answers too. I am leaning toward a MBP 13 in with the 250gb HD.

Also on a side note: I spoke with Apple on the phone, i know at one time they were offering iPod Touch with a purchase, well now they are offering $100 off printers. I do not need a printer any chance you think i can negotiate a Touch with them?

Reaction score
Like you said, you are not a fan of the white Macbook, so I think you should go with the Macbook Pro, definitely. I am using an old white Macbook, and there are many problems that come along with the external enclosure design. Even with the new unibody design, I doubt some of the problems are solved. I'd personally go for the new aluminum ones, since they provide a lot more horsepower.