First Time Mac Buyer - Macbook Pro

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a first time Mac buyer and want to replace my dusty Acer laptop with a Macbook Pro.

I'm a graphic design student hoping to go into the design industry, so Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign will be used on a daily basis.

So I have a dilema. I was set on getting this:

Brand new 15 inch MBP 2.53GHz Intel Core i5
4GB memory
500-GB hard drive 5400rpm
Hi Res Glossy Screen

Total approx £1500 (With student discount)

BUT THEN I SAW THIS REFURBISHED 17 INCH:

Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
17-inch glossy widescreen display
4GB memory
320GB hard drive

Total approx: £1429

Now i'm no expert on computers but how will the 17inch 2.66Ghz Core 2 Duo compare with 15inch 2.53Ghz i5 in terms of speed etc?

Will I notice much difference? I am very tempted by the 17 inch size screen as I currently already have a 15.4 inch and ideally want to upgrade regarding screen size but don't want to compromise speed.

Also, what condition is the average refurbed Mac like, are there hundreds of scratches, anyone have experiecne?

Thanks for your help. :D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP i5 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD 7200 + iPhone 4 32GB iOS4.1
Hi,

I'm a first time Mac buyer and want to replace my dusty Acer laptop with a Macbook Pro.

I'm a graphic design student hoping to go into the design industry, so Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign will be used on a daily basis.

So I have a dilema. I was set on getting this:

Brand new 15 inch MBP 2.53GHz Intel Core i5
4GB memory
500-GB hard drive 5400rpm
Hi Res Glossy Screen

Total approx £1500 (With student discount)

BUT THEN I SAW THIS REFURBISHED 17 INCH:

Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
17-inch glossy widescreen display
4GB memory
320GB hard drive

Total approx: £1429

Now i'm no expert on computers but how will the 17inch 2.66Ghz Core 2 Duo compare with 15inch 2.53Ghz i5 in terms of speed etc?