What Do I need to Enjoy My New MacBook (my very first)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15", Core i7, 4GB Memory, 256GB SSD
I just ordered my very first Apple computer, a 15” MacBook Pro to replace an aging Toshiba laptop. I have always liked to play with technology, but until now, I have not touched an Apple. Actually I still haven’t touched a Mac, as my computer won’t likely arrive for another 10 days.

I have used all flavours of Windows, several distributions of Linux (currently using Ubuntu) and OS/2.

Anyway, I am excited to be adding a Mac to my collection of computers, and would like any advice on what accessories, applications and programs I should be looking to add to the configuration. I am not a graphic artist, musician or photographer, but I do enjoy casual gaming and I will be using this laptop for more common business practices (spreadsheets, word processing and lots of email).

I ordered:

MacBook Pro
Core i7 Processor 2.66 GHz
4GB 1066 DDR3 Memory
256 GB SSD
15” Hi Res Antiglare Screen (my home office is very sunny)

I did not order any other pre-installed software or accessories, I figured I’d buy these as I need them.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2014 MacBook Pro, i7 2.5Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD; iPad 3, iPhone 6
I would get MS Office, it's still the best out there for compatibility with Windows folk. iWork is still missing a lot of fairly basic functionality unfortunately. For mail I now use Mail, although if you have MS Office Entourage is a nice stepping stone between Outlook and Mail.

Adium is far and away the best Chat client so download that if you want a chat client to use for Yahoo, MSN, AOL, FaceBook and most others too.

Just a few more you might want to consider:

- App Zapper, cleans up any files associated with an app you decide to delete
- Handbrake, converts almost anything to h.264, which will be your new favorite codec
- VLC, plays almost anything and a good alternative to iTunes/quicktime