Can't decide!!

Reaction score
Would like some help regarding my problem.

Cant decide between getting a Macbook or a Dell studio xps.

Plan to use my laptop mainly for surfing the net, watching movies, researching, etc.

I'd like to play the OCCASIONAL game. Not really that interested in playing the latest most high end 3D games but basically gaming once in awhile would be nice as I prob would not have time for it anyway. Not a hardcore gamer, no time for it as im studying to be a doc.

Also budgetary constraints leave me between a Macbook or Macbook Pro (13', 2.2Ghz, 4gb RAM, 320GB Hard drive).

The Dell would have an i5 processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB Hard Drive and a ATI Radeon 4670 1gb dedicated video card.

My main concerns are com crashes, lagging or long boot-ups (which other laptops are relatively famous for). Thats why im leaning towards the Mac, but the Dell offers me gaming possibilities, and hey, if i maintain my laptop properly chances are it wont be thaat bad right?.

In conclusion, will the Mac allow me to play the occasional mid-level game, maybe sometimes a relatively high end game? Or does its deficiency in this area make the Dell a much more reasonable choice? And does the lower processor speed for the Mac make it inferior to the Dell in terms of performance?

Explanations for your reasons would be helpful.

Thanks.

Josh.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 15" MacBook Pro OS X 10.7.x & some old Macs
The things you need a computer for doesn't really put a lot of strain on the computers so either one will work for you but if you are looking for a good user experience then I say Mac will be the better choice. It sounds like you are not a hardcore gamer so a Mac will work for you. I also do light gaming on my MacBook Pro and if you need it you can install Windows on your Mac but you cannot do it on the Dell.