iPad for a Medical Student

Reaction score
i have been anticipating the release of the iPad for quite some time. i am currently a medical student and i have been trying to contemplate if getting an iPad would be the most ideal piece of technology for me and my academic usage. i currently have a 17" MBP, NON-unibody, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 128GB SSD, 6GB RAM. recently i have been having many problems with my MBP, ie, running really slow, random kernil panics, programs quitting on me, etc. ive had my computer for about four years or so and i think it's about time for a replacement. so maybe you guys can share your experiences and opinions to help me decide if getting an iPad would be a good alternative in class. heres more specifically how i use my MBP during lecture:

- My professors provide PPT lectures for the students that we download from our school server.
- Would I be able to connect to an external server and DL files off of it with the ipad?

- I predominantly use Keynote. Within Keynote, I write my notes in the slides throughout lecture (adding arrows, text boxes further describing the material) I know Keynote for iPad doesn't have Presenter Notes which is kind of a downside for me. I use the Presenter Notes section quite often, but I think I can survive without it until Apple releases such feature (hopefully).

- When I get home, I study off of the PPT/Keynote slides and take notes separately.

- I often have to refer to my textbooks and the web as supplemental material. Would it be difficult to switch between Keynote and Safari on the iPad? Any news about Apple/iBookstore offering specific textbook publishers?

- i HATE lugging around my big 17" MBP. it takes up so much space on my classroom desk. i usually can't even put an additional notebook/pad on the desk, nor feel comfortable.