Lost Document & Download files

Reaction score
I am new to the Mac world, receiving my first Mac at Christmas time. Mac OS x 10.6.2. Its wonderful and I wouldn't go back to a PC for anything. Having said that ... right after getting my new Mac I noticed that my Downloads folder that sits in my docking station was gone. I thought I was mistaken that it was ever there. Then yesterday, I think I accidentally put my Documents folder in the trash. How do I find these to put them back where they are visible in my docking station.

Thank you for any help you can offer.

SVHarmony

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
Ok, let's sort this out. Dock items are like shortcuts in Windows. When you lose one, it's not a tragedy. We can fix that easily.

Folders in a Finder Window are the real deal. They correspond to directories in Windows, and hold the files, programs, etc. that you need to use your Mac.

The OS will not allow you to put your actual Documents folder in the Trash. An error message will show up and refuse to proceed with the action. You also cannot move your Documents folder. The only action the OS will permit is a copy.

To be reassured that you still have your Documents folder, double click your Hard Drive Icon, then your User folder (the one with the house) and it should be there.

Back to the Dock now... Drag that Documents folder to the right end of your Dock (or the bottom if the Dock is on the side). Release, and you should now have it back. Do the same for the Downloads folder that should be right next to the first one.