How do i record a live DJ set onto my macbook pro?

Reaction score
I do appreciate that this question will have been asked before. I am online using a 2G dongle so my connection is slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

I have been DJing for about 20 years with a 6 year sabbatical between 2000 when i gave up as i swore i would never use CD decks (haha) Then in 2006(ish) i got the bug again.

I have two Pioneer CDJ800’s and a Pioneer DJM500 mixer. I downloaded Audacity to record a set and i could hear cars starting in the back ground and the set sounds like it was recorded in an empty room as the sound it very bad and echoey.

I know you can use Garageband to record a set, how do i do this?

I know there are tutorials on youtube but a 2 min video takes 30 mins to load so any info on what leads to attach where and what settings to use in garageband to get a decent quality sounding two hour live mix will make me a very happy chappie as i need a demo out there for gigs around South East Asia.

Thanks and sorry for asking a question that will have been asked a tonne of times.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBookPro 11,2 <--DAW!!!
I'd suggest you look into getting an external audio interface. I'm using M-Audio's FireWire audiophile for djing with my 1200's and dj mixer and record my mixes in Audacity or mostly in LIVE! on my MBP.

OP
Bahja
Reaction score
I'd suggest you look into getting an external audio interface. I'm using M-Audio's FireWire audiophile for djing with my 1200's and dj mixer and record my mixes in Audacity or mostly in LIVE! on my MBP.

Thanks for the reply. How much would that cost me?

OP
Bahja
Reaction score
Anyone else have any tips for me please.............................

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 1.25Ghz G4 1gb RAM, Mac Pro G5 Dual 1.8GHz 4GB RAM, MacBook Air 1.6 GHz Core2 Duo 2GB RAM