Norton Internet Suite Slow Connection

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27 inch, 2.66 GHz Intel Core i5, 4GB RAM, 1 TB Hard Drive
I am very new to using a Mac, just receiving my new 27 inch iMac this past Saturday. I have to agree with many people who say WOW!!!

Anyway I do (or should say did) have a problem with Norton Internet Suite (free through Comcast) causing my download speed to drop to 1-1.5Mbs, it should be 22Mbs, while my uploads remained normal (10Mbs). The reason I say did is because once I uninstalled Norton's my speeds return to normal. I guess coming from a Windows environment I feel naked without some type of protection. I was wondering if anyone knows of a work around or should I stop worrying about having some protection.

Thanks for any advice.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro, Power Mac G4, iMac G3, iPhone 3GS
There's a really good workaround: Get rid of that Norton thingy. It'll never do a single thing for you aside from, apparently, slow things down.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
late 08 macbook 2.0 4gig 320hdd10.7.3 32 gig iPhone 4s
There's a really good workaround: Get rid of that Norton thingy. It'll never do a single thing for you aside from, apparently, slow things down.

+1 delete that system resource eating junk !

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Yep, sounds like you got it handled exactly right.

I can't think of a single good reason off-hand to load Norton, McAfee, etc. in OS X at this point in time.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Bobtomay, here is a strange one for you. Antivir Pro - The Pay Version that has Email protection.