why classes and objects are similar in objective c

Reaction score
I'm new to objective c.i got trough the point that objects and classes are same in objective c.i'm not getting this point how they can be same....

i need the explaination....

plzz reply mee......

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid
I'm not sure what you are asking. Typically a class is useless without being instantiated into an object. A few classes can be useful without creating an object.

In object oriented languages, a class is a template for objects that will be based on it. You create objects by instantiating them from the class. The act of instantiating sets aside space for the variables you declared in the PERSON class, along with others that were inherited. So, if you have a PERSON class, you can create one or more PERSON objects (Frank, Kimberly, Jason) that use the model of PERSON. When you tell Frank to set his age to 32, you are using the method you wrote in the PERSON class, but it only affects age variable the Frank object. Kimberly and Jason have their own age variables.

I can't think of a short way of describing this all, so I point you to the following...

See Apples "The Objective-C Programming Language". On the left click on "Objects, Classes, and Messaging".

"Becoming an XCoder" might be useful too. Search for class and object. Perhaps page 37.

Reaction score
The above post is not quite correct and is confusing instances of objects and the concept of an object.

A class IS an object. A class is just a way of denoting what the object is specifically. For instance if I said, "I have a thing." You know I have something but you don't know what. If I say, "I have a kitten." You know specifically what kind of thing I have. You don't know anything about a "thing" or what it might do but you do know a kitten will, probably, have fur and purr.