New Mac owner needs some help

Reaction score
Hey all, been frequenting these here parts since my Mac landed on my doorstep 3 weeks ago! Love my Mac, PloyCarb Unibody, shes so sexy!, but as a newb I have a few questons that I am slowly learning and want clarification, so thanks!

1) The only way to turn the birghtness down on the apple logo is to turn screen brightness down right? I use the laptop in bed, and the lady gets bothered by the light while I am typing....

2) Whats the best way to clean it? I forsee myself getting minor scrtahces on it, no biggy as I plan on owning it for years, but whats the best way to clean up grime, oils, finger prints etc??? Someone said Magic Eraser, but to me that sounds like it would scratch the new polycarb macs.....

3) Is there anyway I can put the laptop in clamshell, and still use the HDMI form MiniDP to view on my TV?

Thanks, sorry if these are dumb questions!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The answer to # 1 is simple: Don't use the machine in bed as that tends to make it run warmer since it's resting on you or the bed covers. That usually blocks air from circulating under and around it. If you have to use it in bed, buy a laptop desk. Office Depot has them for $29.95. And yes, you have to turn the brightness down....

#2 Don't use water or any kind of strong cleaning liquids. As a matter of fact, keep all liquids far away from your new Mac! The magic eraser is safe and does a good job of removing smudges. No food or snacks anywhere near your machine - is a good practice.

#3 You can operate your Mac in clamshell mode with an external monitor or TV. Just follow Apple's guidelines.

Regards.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15