• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Macbook Pro or iMac

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook | iPhone | iPod touch
Hello everyone,
I am a college student who is working on my degree in Graphic Arts and Imaging Technology and am currently looking to upgrade my laptop. I currently have a 2007 Macbook (White), which I have upgraded to 4GB Ram. The laptop is great, besides some cracking that I plan on getting repaired, but I feel like I may need to upgrade in order to handle some of the programs I am going to need in many of my classes.
Now the reason I came here is that I do not know what Mac I should upgrade to. I can afford either a Macbook Pro or an iMac but not both. My question for you is, which would I be better off getting: the 15-in 2.66 GHz Macbook Pro (the most expensive I can afford) or the 27-in Quad Core iMac (Which is only $50 more than the Macbook Pro)?
I hope that someone out there will be able to help me. Thanks in advance.

F-X-

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13" | MacBook Pro 13" | Mac Mini 2GHz C2D
i would go with the iMac. you have a mobile computer now. the iMac gives you a bigger screen to do work on.

OP
Fusion-X-
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook | iPhone | iPod touch