Style vs Reliability

E

Ex_PC_Puke

Just a comment before I go plunk down $1300 for a new 12" PBook

Have seen many threads about latches - dead pixels - flakey panel alignment - flakey hinges on iBooks and PBooks

I'm new to apple after being a system designer at Intel for many years - and love OS X and my mini -- after all it really does JUST WORK !!!! But I really think Apple could do a better blend of style and design on their mobile products.

My IBM ThinkPad at Intel was a freakin bullet-proof tank as far as mechanical design went and rigidity of the LCD screen --- I would really like Apple to strike a better balance between pure style and some basic elements of mechanical design

Time to roll the bones at the apple store and see how a PowerBoook works out for me

OP
S

Steel02001

I think the powerbook is both stylish and reliable.

While it isnt a tank, it can definately take a beating, as mine does and it has come out unscathed everytime.

ALso the dead pixel thing. I have seen a lot of these post as well but not all will have the problem so dont worry about it. Its like at a hospital, we see a lot of problems so we just assume there is a ton there, but think of all the powerbook out there and how few actually have the problem.

Good luck at the apple store and I am sure you will come home satisfied.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo 4GB RAM OS 10.5.2
Yeah my powerbook is awesome.. I actually dropped it from waist high and I didn't have any problems, even when it landed on an edge.. I was amazed :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
i remember reading some where that power books have gyro sencers, so if you drop it, it puts the hardrive into a lock down mode so no damage is done. They are prety stylish too.

OP
S

Steel02001

PowerBookG4 said: