slow youtube, ichat disconnecting, now slow internet

Reaction score
hello, im new to the mac world. i just purchased my white unibody macbook last tuesday. i haven't had any problems with it until now. ive looked everywhere online and nobody seems to have straight answer for any of these problems.
1. my youtube is unbearably slow, is it really a os x problem?

2. tonight my aim ichat disconnected me, then i lost all wifi connection completly and couldn't get it back for a good while. it was as if none of the wifi in my area existed. my ichat has disconnected me twice and i have restarted my computer quickly to aviod loosing my entire wifi network.

3. now, my internet is just as slow as my youtube, its freaking me out, i don;t want to have paid this much money to have something wrong with my mac. ive been loving my mac since i got it.

can anyone help? or having the same problem? are these problems my mac, or the wifi?

info: im on verizon dsl, using safari, this all happened after i took my mac elsewere and tried logging onto another wifi network.

C

chas_m

1. my youtube is unbearably slow, is it really a os x problem?

Welcome, and congratulations!

No, YouTube should not be unbearably slow at all. If its slow loading, that could be an internet-connection issue. Your other issues would tend to make me think in that direction.

Try this:

1. power down the router, the modem and the computer. Unplug the modem and router.
2. Leave them alone for about a minute.
3. Plug them back in *in this order* - modem, then router, then power up the computer.

That should clear up any issues if the root cause was the modem or the router.

Another thought: have you encrypted your wifi network? Is it possible someone is leeching your signal?

OP
A
Reaction score
i don't think ive ever encrypted my wifi, what exactly does that mean? how do i do that?

C

chas_m

i don't think ive ever encrypted my wifi, what exactly does that mean? how do i do that?