Good and reliable external hardrives?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Power Book G4 10.5.5
Hi guys,

Just wondering if you have any recommendation of any good and reliable external hardrive? I need 2 I think. I am going to get a new iMac, so I need a 1TB one to work with the time machine, then I will also need another one, doesn't have to be 1TB just as a 2nd back up. I am a photographer, so it's important I keep more than 1 copy of my work. I am rebuilding my archive so planning on using 1 hardrive to link with my new mac, another one have identical copies then make 3rd copies on DVDs.

I might also need a replacement of my portable HD which I think it's dying.

Any opinion is appreciated.

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac 2.4 GHz, 4gb | 16gb white iPhone 3Gs | MacBook 2.1GHz, 1gb | 40gb AppleTV |
I have a Seagate FreeAgent 1TB for Mac, and have had no problems with it. I use it for my time machine backups. I paid about $150 for it a year ago, looks like the price has come done some. Seagate at Frys I use it with the firewire 800, it is amazing fast, plus it leaves a free usb port for other items.

I'ver super happy with it, if I ever need another I would get this one again.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21 inch
i am using a wd20000h2q (2TB external drive) it has 2 1TB drives in it that i have set up as raid to mirror them, so i only get 1TB to actually use as backup. works fine with Time machine. Its almost a year old and a quick search on google could not find any quickly but Western D must have made a replacement for it.

Reaction score