iPhone SDK Development

Reaction score
Hello all! I'm new here, and have a favor to ask.

I need to know the all the prerequisites of developing an application for the iPhone/iPod Touch. I have very little programming knowledge compared to the average programmer, but I'm just starting out.

I've downloaded the SDK, and played around with the applications, but I realized that almost every guide/tutorial/helpFAQ reccomends you learn Objective C first. When I looked for a guide on learning Objective C, they all said you should learn "other languages" first.

So can any one point me to a book that teaches Objective C aimed at people who don't know any other languages?

And after I learn Objective C, what's next? Should I pick up a book on Xcode?

Also, is there a book that teaches how to use Interface Builder in correlation with Xcode, and all the other programs that come with the SDK?

Thanks in advance for any help.

P.S. The programming experience I have is in VisualBasic.NET Express Edition 2008/10.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
You'll want to learn Objective C first, and it definitely helps to know a Object Oriented Programing (OOP) language so that you can just focus on the Obj-C specific stuff and not have to learn OOP as well.

Either way, try this book as a Obj-C one:
APRESS.COM : Learn Objective–C on the Mac : 9781430218159

Then you can go to:
APRESS.COM : Learn Cocoa on the Mac : 9781430218593

And finally:
APRESS.COM : Beginning iPhone Development: Exploring the iPhone SDK : 9781430216261

The Cocoa on Mac is good because the iPhone SDK is called Cocoa Touch and essentially a toned version of the framework that runs on the Mac.

The Cocoa and Iphone SDK books will go into all the details of Interface Builder and all that..

Regards

OP
Kiriashi
Reaction score
So there are no requirements for that first book? Does it start from the very beginning?