Advice for backup choices

Reaction score
I have FOUR Mac laptops that I have to troubleshoot regularly. Mine (MacBook) works great. My daughter's Macbook Pro has just crashed, and I'm trying to recover the files, etc. My sons each have an ibook G4 (one older than the other).

ANYWAY, after my daughter's computer crashed today, I realized that I NEED to have some kind of external backup going on, and I have none. My computer is used for all of our personal finances AND all of my work files. (I'm a teacher.)

I'm looking for the best way to back up my laptops. I need something that is simple but very effective. I know NOTHING about backing things up. (I know, pathetic!)

Thank you for any help you can give me! :)Michelle

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Purchase an external hard drive and use it for your backups. Since you didn't mention which operating system you're using... I'll assume it's Leopard or later. Time Machine is built into Leopard and Snow Leopard and is probably the easiest way to backup your machine as it's done automatically.

If your OS X is before Leopard (Tiger or earlier), post back and I'll suggest something else.

Regards.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27 iMac+Thunderbolt, iMac 21,
Have a look at McBies comments here to help decide which criteria is important in your future plan. One cheap possibility if room permits is to partition all laptops to 2 partitions and back up A to B and B to C etc... on the basis of 2 drives failing at the same time is fairly remote. Perhaps a big Ext HD with 4 partitions and each laptop with a copy of SuperDuper for backing up.

OP
M
Reaction score