MBPro + SSD = Unformatted Disk

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Unibody Macbook Pro, 4GB Ram, 64GB SSD
Hey Everyone

I'm new to both the forum and to Macs. I just purchased a MacBook Pro about 3 months ago (my first mac ever), and last month I purchased a 64GB Patriot Warp V2 SSD.

Ever since then I have been having issues with the Operating System.

I will be using my mac, close the lid, go to a new location, and when I open it up I get the Spinning Pinwheel.

I then proceed to hard shutdown, but when I power it back up I get a flashing envelope... So I put in the OSX disk... and go to Disk Utility

The Disk Utility is telling me that the Patriot is "Unformatted".

This has happened to me three times in the past 4 weeks... what could possibly be the issue?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro Uni
have you removed the disk the safe way? Or just unplugged the thing?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
late 08 macbook 2.0 4gig 320hdd10.7.3 32 gig iPhone 4s
have you removed the disk the safe way? Or just unplugged the thing?

the op is referring to an internal ssd drive..Sounds like there could be a problem with your sweet new toy ! Hopefully you have a cloned copy of your drive so you can still be up and running while you maybe have to return it for a new one...

OP
R
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
the op is referring to an internal ssd drive..Sounds like there could be a problem with your sweet new toy ! Hopefully you have a cloned copy of your drive so you can still be up and running while you maybe have to return it for a new one...

Yeah this is an internal drive. I do have backups of everything in Time Machine, so I'm not worried. Just wondering why this keeps happening. It's actually the second SSD in my machine... the first one died completely and I returned in for the Patriot.

Can static electricity hit a disk when it's installed inside the Unibody?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs