Think my 1st gen G5 iMac is dead

Reaction score
Hello. Im a newbie here, but Ive been on a Mac since frosh yr college 01. Am hoping to see if anyone has had this same problem or knows of a fix. Hope this forum is appropriate.

1st gen G5 iMac- OSX 10.4.8 i think (bought in 04-05?)

I got the 'Black screen of Death' yesterday. I've had this happen before on other Macs at work, but never on my home computer. What follows is wierd & Ive never seen.

Upon restart, I got my normal grey screen wit the apple logo on it & the spinning dial, but the screen appeard pixelated. Magenta pixels (1 pixel wide) were all around the Apple logo graphic & the spinning dial. Green & Magenta Pixels were apparent around the edges of my monitor as well. As the loading wheel spun, I started getting pixelated lines running horizontally up my screen, ( like a crappy signal on an old TV) it did this for a short while. Then my screen popped up a bunch of staggered black lines wit hte black background & froze. (the apple logo & pinwheel were no t there anymore) Then the balck screen of death again (which 2 was very low-res & pixelated looking.)

After letting it sit a while, I restarted. Went thru the grey loading screen then to the blue screen wit the Mac face logo & blue laoding bar. All appeared fine. My desktop background popped up, and I thought all was good. As I waited for my Hard Drive icon & files on desktop to top up, back came the pixels. My desktop background image ( the preloaded B&W image of sand dunes & a dock) had tall these 1 pixel wide pixels arounf the edges of this graphic. It sat forever like this. Finally turned it off & called a buddy for some ideas.

I zapped the P Ram upon startup. Didnt work. After friends research, he said Apple had bought faulty logic boards for 1st gen iMacs and this could be a problem. Also, at first glance it could sound like a monitor problem, but why wernt my hard drive & apps poppin up?