Switcher looking for a little buying advice

Reaction score
Hi, I've been a lurked on here for a while and finally signed up.

I want a mac. I currently have an old athlon xp1600 pc dual booting windows xp and ubuntu that I use as a tinkering and downloading machine.

I also have a 2 year old pc core 2 duo with 4gb of ram running windows 7 64bit. This is my main pc and runs as a media server and also my photo editing pc as I'm a keen amateur photographer.

Both of these are connected to a 20" Dell Monitor.

Ok enough about the pc's. I've been wanting a MacBook pro for some time and have been looking at the top end 15" one with the 3ghz chip and upgrading the he'd to the 128gb ssd. My problem is I just can't get the new 27" iMac out of my head as it's cheaper and of a much higher spec than the MacBook.

I'm not sure my desk could cope with all the kit if I got the iMac. But I could possibly bin my oldest pc. And use the 2year old one as my tinkering and download pc. Then put windows 7 dual booking on the iMac.

But I wouldn't be able to stick it in my bag and take it around with
me which is why I was looking at MacBooks.

Any advice or has anyone one faced similar dilemas?
Apart from my iPhone this will be my 1st mac.

Thanks
Scott

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Mate it seems the only real dilemma for you is ..... Do you want to be able to take it with you. There would be no problems with the MBP and having W7 on it at all. Yes its a little more in $ wise but having the portability is why i have a MB and not a iMac.

If worse comes to worse you can also hook it up through the 20" you have and get a wireless mouse and keyboard.

Do you want to take it with you ??? To the look of it from my perspective that is the only question you need to ask yourself..
OH and they do look rather nice the new MBP ... Sleek and very stylish :)

Cheers

OP
skotbites
Reaction score
Thanks.