Problem with copy and paste that does not paste the more recent copy?

Reaction score
Greetings,

I am a Computer Science Engineer, with lots of experience in Linux and about 2 years ago moved into the fantastic Mac OS. Still, I have a (maybe naive?) problem that I cannot solve (nor find help in the Web):

I use Leopard 10.5.8 and often my fist copy and paste (cmd+c and then cmd+v) does not paste the more recent (cmd+c). This occurs very frequently when I use MacVim, but also sometimes when copying text from/to applications like firefox, terminal, MS word, etc.

This is quite annoying: instead of pasting the recent copy, it pastes the previous one. So I have to repeat the cmd+c and cmd+v, and 99% of the times the second cmd+c works fine. What is happening? What am I doing wrong? My keyboard is ok, this should be a software problem...

Would appreciate if anyone knows the answer (please also email-me).

Regards,
Paulo Cortez

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, and Macbook Pro
Doest the same thing happen when you use the menu method of Copy/Paste? I mean, using the Edit drop down in the Menu Bar or the Right Click mouse menu. If that works OK, then:

Well, since Copy overwrites the Clipboard, it must be that your Cmd C isn't working consistently. If the problem were the C Key, you would have noticed entering text. So, I suspect you have an intermittent Cmd Key on your keyboard. Pop that key off and see if there is some dirt or debris under it that might occasionally prevent a full key stroke. A mechanical answer is the most obvious, Occam's razor and all that.

The next thing I'd try is a different keyboard.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)
You can see your clipboard's contents at any time from the Finder by choosing Edit > Show Clipboard.