Macbook Pro freezing issue/will not power down

Reaction score
Hello! I've been encountering a strange issue since about three updates back on my system, and I'm wondering if anybody could help me out.

I'm fairly new to Mac - I just got one late July/early August. I had to order via telephone as we really don't have any shoppes that would support a Mac where I live. That said, it's making it increasingly hard for me to get help about this issue.

I have a 500GB harddrive and 4GB RAM that came with my Mac, and I have changed absolutely nothing about that. I don't consider myself 'tech'-y enough to open up my computer and play with its insides, and the HD space is more than enough for my needs. The only things I've put on the Mac since its purchase have been Kaspersky antivirus (I am aware that Mac brags about its lack of viruses, but I'd rather be protected just in case), Mozilla Firefox as a secondary browser (Safari is lovely, but not supported on my online banking's website), and my Spore game, which I have been told and have read in its user guide is fully supported by Mac.

Three updates ago, as I said to restart my computer, I began to encounter a freezing issue. It applies to all applications. It used to be that when I would shut down my Mac, it would be immediate after hitting the apple in the upper left-hand corner and selecting shut-down, and restarting was as fast as opening my lid, and hitting the power button.

Now, my Mac will not power down if I ask it to. When trying to power-down, it says something about updating a cache. I kept it on this screen for over three hours in hopes of it turning off. When it would not, I quickly hit the power button, and selected the 'shut down' option. It continued to stay on just my background (the typical, pretty purple blast Mac background) - nothing else.

I wound up having to hold down the power button to shut it off, which is not something I like to do.