wondering if i can install windows 7 64 bit

Reaction score
Hello all, i have an apple iMac 24inch intel core 2 duo 3.06, and i currently run 2 OS , snow leopard and windows 7 32 bit. I was wondering if i can install windows 7 64 bit ? I will need another Boot Camp ( installing windows from Mac OS ) ? Help please.

ps: 1st of all is my mac compatible with 64-bit ? Sry i am a newbie :)

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
Reaction score
One other note - you cant install a third partition using boot camp. To use BC, you will either have to delete your existing partition and reinstall the 64 bit windows instead. If you want to keep your existing Windows install, you'll either need to create a virtual machine for the 64-bit install or use something like reFit to install a third bootable partition. I am not in my office but you can search for reFit to find the link.

Cheers

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Don't know what you're looking at, but your iMac can run Windows 7 x 64 bit. As Sammy said though, you can not have three partitions using BC and Windows 7 x 32 bit can not be upgraded to Windows 7 x 64 bit. The 64 bit version must be installed clean.

Link to rEFIt here.

Regards.

OP
P
Reaction score
Don't know what you're looking at, but your iMac can run Windows 7 x 64 bit. As Sammy said though, you can not have three partitions using BC and Windows 7 x 32 bit can not be upgraded to Windows 7 x 64 bit. The 64 bit version must be installed clean.

Link to rEFIt here.

Regards.

yes but can i use the bootcamp from my iMac ? cause i think it says its compatible with 32bits operating systems.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs