Which configuration 13" Macbook Pro should I get?

Reaction score
I'm a college student and I'm in the process of configuring a Macbook Pro, but I'm unsure of the specifications I want. I've been a PC user all my life and I'm making the switch to a Mac. I want to stick with a 13" since I'm on a budget. I feel like getting the base model, but I feel that 2GB of ram will not be enough and the 160GB hard drive will be too small.

13-inch : 2.26GHz
Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB memory
160GB hard drive

Price: $1,099.00 Student Price

or

13-inch : 2.26GHz
Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB memory
250GB hard drive

Price: $1,234.00 Student Price

Or should I just spend 165 dollars ($1,399.00) and get:

13-inch : 2.53GHz
Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB memory
250GB hard drive

Price: $1,399.00 Student Price

Is paying 165 extra for the processor worth it? I will be doing basic photo shop, word, excel, itunes, and browse the net. I read that a lot of people say that I should just buy extra ram and a bigger hard drive separately, but upon my research I found that it's the same price. What do you guys think? For sure I will get a larger hard drive as I listen to music and have a lot of pictures. As for the ram, do you think paying 90 extra for it is worth it and necessary?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
eMac OS X 10.4.11 1.25GB RAM 40GB original hard drive,
Macs use RAM more efficiently than PCs do, so 2GBs on a mac will behave a lot better than 2GBs on a PC.

Based on what your specific needs are, I would go with the $1,099.00 and just get an external hard drive for extra space.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
Well, the extra processing power might come in handy with things like Photo Shop or Lightroom, and the extra RAM will certainly make a difference too. Heck, the HD does matter too, when using Ps or Lightroom because you should have a large scratch disk.