Hard Drive Space

Reaction score
I have had my IMAC for 6 months. I am running MAC OS X 10.5.8.
The Macintosh HD "GET info" claims there is 472.4GB used out of 595.9GB. I shouldn't be anywhere near this. When I select Get Info from anything within Macintosh HD there are no surprisingly large folders.
After looking at several sites and threads in this forum, I ran OmniDiskSweeper and it calculates 62.0GB total. A big difference from 472.4GB.
I'm new to the MAC OS and I can't figure out how to free up this space. Anyone have solutions?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.1GHz MacBook with 4GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.6, iLife and iWork ‘09
Open Terminal from your Utilities folder and type the following command, then copy and paste the results back here. Be sure to wait for it to finish (you'll get the prompt back again); it might take a bit depening on how many files you have. That will help in finding where space is being taken up.
Code:
du -hd1

OP
T
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply here is the data FYI There are four users, do I need to repeat this for all users?:
todd-wilkeys-imac:~ Todd$ du -hd1
4.0K ./.cups
260K ./.Trash
1.1G ./Desktop
107M ./Documents
721M ./Downloads
541M ./Library
247M ./Movies
264M ./Music
19G ./Pictures
8.0K ./Public
72K ./Resumes
56K ./Sites
22G .
todd-wilkeys-imac:~ Todd$

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Hmm, not necessarily. Do you have an administrative account? If so, type the following commands and let me know the output.
Code:
cd /Users
sudo du -hd1
That will show how much space each user is using, and hopefully we can narrow it down from there. You'll have to type your administrative password for the second command; that's just because you aren't allowed to access other users' files by default. However, if you are an administrator, it will save you from having to log in as each user to repeat the command. If you aren't an administrator, repeating it would help, if you're willing.

OP
T
Reaction score