imac G5 Old Version or New?! Can't Decide...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Aluminium, 2Duo Intel Thingy Wotzit!
Hey All

I am new to this forum, but I am trying to decide between the G5 imac (white version) or the new Aluminium version....!! Tough decision!! I have found some decent prices at only £500 each. But I am a graphic designer and have only ever worked on the "white version, the older version" but I know the aluminium version the screen is shiney, and does this affect the performance of the mac etc?!!

Also the older white version comes with 12 months warrenty, which appeals to me more incase anything goes wrong....! Hmm... its a tough one, can anyone advise me and give me their opinions on the different screens, and models?!

THANK YOU!!

Strawberry x O:)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Unibody MBP (2009), White MB (2009), iMac G4
There is no G5 aluminum iMac. The G5 hasn't been made in about four years. G5 refers to the fifth generation PowerPC processor. Macs have not used PowerPC processors since the switch to Intel in 2006. The early Intel iMacs shared a very similar case design with the G5 model, but that is where the similarities end.

The glossy screen has no effect on performance, it is simply an LCD screen with a reflective, glossy coating. Some say it has an effect on image quality, but it is purely a matter of preference.

If you are looking at used systems, and can get an aluminum model for the same price as the old white one, then go for the aluminum. They have a better graphics card, faster processors with faster bus, higher capacity for RAM, among other enhancements. You can always purchase Apple Care for a warranty if that appeals to you.

OP
S
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Hey thanks for your advice, I have opted for the Aluminium one!! Sorry my terms are not very technical still quite new to all of this mac business!!! But love them!!

I am getting it tomorrow, and may purchase the apple care, thanks for that!!