selling, how to clean ibook g4 HD?

Reaction score
Hi All,
Even though I've been using my iBook for 4 years now, I still feel like a newb to macs. The Os's and hardware changes so fast that I was behind even when my laptop was brand new! Anyhow, I am finally upgrading to a MB and am selling the ibook to a friend for her kids to use mainly on the internet. So... I understand that once the new mb arrives the info from the old ibook should be migrated via time machine? Anyhow, after that process. I need to reset the ibook for my friend. So... what exactly should occur? How do I, without buying any new programs, clean out all of my info., and reset the account to factory settings? Will the computer still be set with me as the administrator? Will I need to get all of the upgrades after installing, if I still have them, the factory disks? I want to hand over the computer in "ready to run" mode to her, anything I should do? Thanks

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
After migrating all your data from the iBook to your new MacBook, boot the iBook with your original install media or whichever OS X is currently on it. Then select Utilities, Disk Utility from the top menu. From here you can erase the hard drive. After erasing the hard drive, install OS X and applications.

You should be good to go. Everything about you and your data will be gone.

Regards.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.53GHz; 4GB RAM; GeForce 9400M
After migrating all your data from the iBook to your new MacBook, boot the iBook with your original install media or whichever OS X is currently on it. Then select Utilities, Disk Utility from the top menu. From here you can erase the hard drive. After erasing the hard drive, install OS X and applications.

You should be good to go. Everything about you and your data will be gone.

Regards.