My App was pirated - what should i do?

Reaction score
One week after it hit the App Store, i found links to illegal copies of my first iPhone App. :'(

I have no experience with this kind of thing.
I know i can't prevent it anymore (now that it's circulating), but maybe someone knows how to make it more difficult for them next time? I have another project in the works that I've invested over 10 months hard work, and I rather not have this happen again, if there is a way to prevent it.

I did ask the host to remove the links from his site, but it's probably on 10 other sites by now. Ideas?

I'm a bit amazed they'd bother to pirate a $.99 cent app, but I guess that's the world we live in :(

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Check if the iPhone SDK provides a way of checking with Apple if a particular Apple ID (which you should have access to in the application) has purchased your application..

Phoning home in your app would be useless since you don't have a list of people who've purchase your app so I think the onus is on Apple to provide this feature if it isn't already available..

Regards

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Apple Macbook Pro 15" 2.4GHz 2GB 200GB
Sorry :(

Hey
I apologise for not having anything particularly constructive, as such, to say, but - is this pirating for jailbroken phones? (Don't worry - I have no plans to A: jailbrake, or B: pirate).
What was the name of the app? Can't help you with advice, so might have to help you out by buying a copy! :)
Peace

OP
V
Reaction score
Hey
I apologise for not having anything particularly constructive, as such, to say, but - is this pirating for jailbroken phones? (Don't worry - I have no plans to A: jailbrake, or B: pirate).
What was the name of the app? Can't help you with advice, so might have to help you out by buying a copy! :)
Peace

:D SunGPS: iTunes Store

Haven't tested the pirated download - I don't use jailbreak O:)

OP
V
Reaction score