Make an ISO copy of Mac OS X DVD

Reaction score
Hi,

I have just got (yesterday) my MacBook Air and it obviously came with the two DVDs (Mac OS X and Applications). Now, I like to keep an ISO copy of all the operating systems that I use. You never know with DVDs while I know that I can always burn a new DVD if I have an ISO of the original.

Anyway, I don't have a SuperDrive, 'only' a PC (with a DVD drive) running Windows. Both my MBA and PC are on a wireless network (in case that matters).

My question is: how can I make an ISO copy of the the two DVDs that came with my MBA? I imagine that, if anything, I would have to do that from my PC, but obviously if I insert the Mac OS X DVD, I only see the Windows part of it, not the Mac part, hence I can't (currently) create an ISO version of the two DVDs. So, any idea? I would just hate having to rely only on one physical copy of what is a very important piece of software.

Cheers

PS: I am completely new to Macs, so please bear with me...

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You can make a backup ISO using a PC or an external writer from your MacBook Air. When making a backup disk you would need a burner and media capable of doing 2X (double layer). Any good burning package used in Windows (Nero, Ashampoo) is capable of burning an ISO of your OS X install media. And so is Disk Utility from Snow Leopard. (Data recorded on your Snow Leopard DVDs can be "seen" from Windows. Give it a try...)

Having said all that, why do you think you need a backup ISO of all your operating systems? How often do you install them and how often does media fail? I've got copies of operating systems on original disks (how about Window for Workgroups 3.11 on eight 3.5" floppies) that still work after 10 or more years.

Regards.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.53GHz; 4GB RAM; GeForce 9400M