Questions about Path Finder

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook (Leopard)
I am new to Mac and did a little research and it seems to be rather hard to remove Finder from the Dock. Would it be possible to make a connection from Finder to Path Finder? This way I won't have to remove Finder from the Dock since it will open Path Finder.

However, if there is a way to remove Finder from the Dock that would be cool to know as well :)

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
I think you're stuck with separate icons. Sorry.
You've probably noticed that a secondary click on the Finder icon does not reveal a Remove from Dock option like most (all?) of the others have.

OP
N
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook (Leopard)
Yeah I was afraid of that. Not really a big deal, just kinda annoying to have an extra Icon I won't use. In any case thanks.

Reaction score
In Pathfinder, in the menus go to :- Pathfinder > Finder and enable the 'Remove Finder from Dock' option... Go to your dock, right click on the Finder icon and remove it. Done.

Worked for me... not that i use the Dock anyway.... Dragthing's the thing ;-)

You can demo Pathfinder for free - so download it and try it yourself.

Coops

OP
N
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook (Leopard)
Just what I was looking for. Thank you very much.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
You've probably noticed that a secondary click on the Finder icon does not reveal a Remove from Dock option like most (all?) of the others have.
But apparently Pathfinder enables that, eh? Whadya know! I'm a little surprised, actually. Hanging around here is very educational.

OP
N
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook (Leopard)