Unable to install OSX 10.6.2 on Seagate ST9500421AS

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I have just bought my first mac, a 15" Macbook Pro, i originally ordered the base model 15" with a 500gb 7200 HDD but because i customised the machine apple wanted 2 weeks to deliver it, it was a replacement for a failed laptop so this was unacceptable, after i discovered that apple class the RAM & HDD as user serviceable i decided to just go to our local PC World and buy the base model and install the upgraded drive myself, oh how i am beginning to regret that..

I have over 10 years experience building, upgrading & creating software for PCs for a living so i thought how hard can it be?

I bought a Seagate ST9500421AS, whipped off the case and replaced the drive, booted off the OSX CD and partitioned the drive with the disk utility and began the install, the first time it took about 2 hours to get about half way it said 24 mins remaining for most the way through the install.

The second time i re-formatted the drive and it got to about 20% and said 28 mins, i left it overnight (about 7 hours) and it was still the same in the morning, i put the old drive back in and used SuperDuper! to clone the drive and booted off the new drive (back in the machine), i attempted to install Office 2008 and it started out saying 30 mins remaining, the whole machine crashed after about 10 mins, all i got was a pinwheel and no mater what app i clicked it didn't bring it into focus or change the menu bar title, i powered off the machine (held down the power key)...

I tried again with pretty much the same result, i put the old drive back in and office installed in about 4 mins.. so something definitely not compatible, any ideas??

Please can someone tell me which 500gb 7200rpm drive apple use in the 15" MBP?

Also do apple use their own special firmware in the drive?

Excuse the long post..

Dean.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs