OS utilities

Reaction score
I am new to the Mac after 10+ yrs on the PC. I have a "Windows Registry" mentality and know all too well how it can become filled with junk entries after multiple app installs and uninstalls.

How does this work in the Mac world? Are there any good utilities that can clean up OSX? Get rid of unecessary and/or junk files?

Any good application uninstall apps?

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
The only real thing you need to do, and it's not that overly important, is to run the Unix CRON scripts (Daily, Weekly or Monthly, I only run Monthly myself). You can use an App like Cocktail to do it for you, or you can learn the Unix command lines and do it from the terminal. You can run Disc Utility and Repair your permissions every once in a while but I don't think that really buys you much in terms of stability of maintenance.

Other than that there is no Registry equivalent on a Mac.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
OSX has No Registry, no DLL's. Very boring OS for people used to fighting with the registry! :D

There are maintenance apps like Onyx that many here at Mac Forums run from time to time.

There are several Uninstallers. With most apps (Unlike Windows) just throw the application in the trash and it's gone. Unlike Windows OSX Apps are all self contained. There are a few files (small config and data) that might get left behind, and if you want to get rid of them you can either do it manually or use an Uninstaller App like AppCleaner which is free or AppDelete which costs a little.

Other than running Onyx, there is not normally much maintenance to do in OSX.

I hope that helps you a bit!

Baggss sort of beat me to it. Cocktail is another little App like Onyx to run the chron scripts and clean up a few things.

OP
Reaction score
Thanks...