imac shut down and won't reboot

Reaction score
hello...im fairly new to macs..i have no idea what version i have, but i have an imac that came out a yr or so ago...anyways, its been working perfectly since my purchase but for some reason today it froze. following, i held down the power button to turn it off. every time i try to restart it wont turn on... a grey screen appears and after approximately 2 minutes a folder with a "?" mark in the middle begins to flashe....does anyone know what i can do to fix this? sorry for my ignorance and the possible confusion as i know you all are mac enthusiasts..any help would be great. have a nice day. -lauren

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.
If you have the original OS disks with that iMac, power the Mac on and immediately put Disk 1 into the slot and hold down the C key. The iMac should (hopefully) boot from the dvd.

Then you can open Disk Utilities from the top menu bar and run diagnostic checks/tests therefrom. The flashing question mark indicates a corrupted or missing System folder, or a malfunctioning hard disk sector containing it. Disk repair can be done from Disk Utilities using the Disk 1 dvd. If you need further help with this process, post again.

OP
L
Reaction score
my start up disc is in another city in storage = /...is there any other solution? a friend told me i could access everything i need by rebooting and holding down the option key, but i havent tried this yet..again, any help would be great..have a nice day and thanks for your reply

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.