Upgrade from Tiger to Leopard Questions

Reaction score
I'm new to the Mac world. Just bought a used Powerbook G4 1.67ghz. It currently has Tiger 10.4.x installed. I want to upgrade to Leopard but have some questions.

Where can I get the Leopard install media at a good price? I'm going to borrow a friends media but it might be the grey disks and I heard they may not work.

Can I do a fresh clean install of Leopard and still keep the MS Office 2004 currently on the machine? If not where can I find MS Office install media at a good price?

TIA

OP
T
Reaction score
Just found out that the Leopard install disk is black with a big X, so I assume that one will work, correct?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Where can I get the Leopard install media at a good price?

Firstly...you should NOT use anyone else's "media" on your computer. 1 install /computer.

2nd, if you want your own copy of 10.5...go to eBay. Currently prices are $100+.

3rd...you should have no problem keeping/using Office 2004 after the 10.5 install.

I hope this helps,

- Nick

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Just found out that the Leopard install disk is black with a big X, so I assume that one will work, correct?

Yes that is correct...and it will work even better if it's your own personal copy (not a friend's)!;)

- Nick

OP
T
Reaction score
Can I do a clean install of Leopard and only keep MS Office? I don't want to keep anything the previous owner had installed on the machine except for Office.

Can I by the media on eBay for version 10.5.1+ or do I have to start at the base 10.5.0 version then do upgrades through the OS?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Can I do a clean install of Leopard and only keep MS Office? I don't want to keep anything the previous owner had installed on the machine except for Office.